Security and Administration: Mark St. John
 Rachel Davison's Letter to the College Community
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

38 Posts

Posted - 2006 August 16 :  16:53:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
To whom it may concern:

One of the reasons that I came to St. John’s in Santa Fe was in order to be on the Search and Rescue Team. I am an EMT-Intermediate and have always enjoyed volunteering. I came here with the hope that I would be able to contribute. Upon arriving on campus I was able to get a position with Mark St. John and the Outdoors Program and what I have been able to do through my work with Mark has changed the way that I experience the outdoors.
Before coming to St. John’s I was very out of shape, and while I was familiar with the outdoors I was in no way experienced. Through the Outdoors Program this has changed dramatically.
The Search and Rescue Team is an amazing experience. I have helped save lives. I have learned skills that will help me, my loved ones and the community in which I live for the rest of my life. I have been to Avalanche Training in Colorado. I have been at 12000 feet at 3:00 in the morning. I have had mild frostbite. All in the service of someone I don’t know and may never meet. It is all for the “just in case.” This has been an opportunity to serve in a way that I would otherwise be unable, and that would be tragic. Search and Rescue propelled me to get in shape, get out, to get off my butt and out of my head. Working with Mark and the Search and Rescue Team I was able to quickly learn about the team and helped with the everyday administration and training needs. This has given me so much. I have learned so much and I will always be thankful for the opportunities for growth that the Search and Rescue Team has given me.